top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Keiser

Gallery Opening // Vulnerability

Updated: Feb 22, 2020




Many think art and design are simply visual; however, this is not the case. Art allows us to express ourselves in ways words cannot. It sheds light on topics that sometimes are ignored, making the viewers think in ways they may have never thought before. Works of art do not just reveal the talents of the artist, but also the soul.


I had the pleasure of attending the 1920 Gallery opening showcasing vulnerability. The pieces in this show were all created by Indiana Wesleyan University students. Each student was charged with creating a work of art that spoke about vulnerability—the only guideline being that paper had to somehow be involved in the composition.

As I walked through the space, I saw many unique pieces. I was in awe at the fact that vulnerability can be so widely interpreted. From masks to large crumpled up journal entries, each work revealed a different aspect of vulnerability.


Out of all the pieces I encountered, the one that spoke to me most was the wall of masks. Many people, including myself, hide their innermost struggles from the rest of the world. Rather than being authentic, they put up a front. They strive to keep a perfect image, never revealing their true thoughts and feelings. This can be extremely harmful, because it forces people to suppress their emotions rather than confronting them. The masks motivated me to be unapologetically authentic.


The compositions I saw in the 1920 Gallery opened my eyes to the importance of art and vulnerability. I realized that art is one of many forms of vulnerability. It gives others a glimpse into your life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page